Day 1: Decorate Your Social Space

Day 1

Happy first day of Grownup Advent. It’s time to get into the Christmas spirit.

If you’re like me, then you’ve had your Christmas tree and decorations up since Thanksgiving (or at least this past weekend). If you’re not like me, and this has not happened yet, please do whatever it takes to catch up. Call in sick to work. Take a long lunch. Pencil it in for after dinner.  It’s way more fun to celebrate the holidays when you come up to a festive place every day.

In the meantime, today is a good day to pretty up our digital lives. While this particular prompt says to decorate your social spaces–meaning your Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. platforms with festive photos, I say go all out. Change the background on your computer desktop to a snowy Christmas tree farm, New York City, or whatever moves you. Update the sleep screens on your phone. Deck those digital walls, my friends.

If you’d like to add some ornaments or flare to pictures you already have, you can use free programs online to accomplish. I suggest PicMonkey and Canva.

I actually used PicMonkey to create this beautiful banner, which will be flying high on my blog’s page for the rest of the season:

ctwbanner2015Xmas

I heart that thing so much.

I’m also thinking it might be time to bust out that vintage photo of me kicking it old school with Jolly Old Saint Nick. Or maybe I’ll recycle the picture of my sister and I with our Ugly Sweaters and photo booth props.

563842_10100691753497413_1235945869_n

Or maybe I’ll go another route. Who knows? That’s the fun of decorating–trying out what works, and what doesn’t.

This is also a great time to setup a holiday playlist or five (you know, in case you’re in different moods for different music throughout the season)  to listen to this month. I unapologetically listen to non-stop Christmas music during December, and it’s good to be prepared.

I’ll be prettying up the rest of my digital and social spaces throughout today, and I’ll share my results with you online. I hope you’ll do the same.

Merry Christmas!


Don’t forget to share your results on social media using #grownupadvent. Want to connect? Find me on Twitter @lmchap and Instagram @lmchap614.

New to the page? Don’t worry, it’s never too late to make merry. View the archive to see what we’ve done so far and play catch-up.

 

3 thoughts on “Day 1: Decorate Your Social Space

  1. I cannot and will not decorate at home for Christmas until ghe last few days before. I don’t have it in me. Retail for 20+ years killed any extended enjoyment I might have (managers hear about Christmas starting in April, so…). But I’m not totally humbug. I just prefer to savor the tradition of my childhood that we wait until the last minute. When I was still an only child, my parents would buy a tree and keep it hidden in the neighbors’ yard until I went to bed on Christmas eve, then they’d put it up while I slept so Christmas morning was an absolute shock.
    When the other kids were born, my parents moved it to the weekend before, and we’ve stuck with it ever since.

    Christmas was always a mixed experience for me, as we were rather poor and my Dad was very ill from the time I was 9. He died 20 years ago, so keeping the tradition with my Mom and sister and brothers is something that makes it better and brighter at Christmas. The best part is always when “the boys” make it home to Mom’s amd we all decorate together.

    I signed up for this event to re-learn how to enjoy this time of year. I’m tired of the dread that usually comes with it, and want to start over, so here I am. Please don’t get me wrong; I like the suggestions for online decorating. It really never occurred to me to do it before, so thank you for the nudges! I hope I haven’t been too much of a bummer in this comment; I promise I won’t post anything else so somber. 😉

    Like

    • That sounds like a wonderful tradition for your family. Growing up, my mom’s family would put up and decorate their tree closer to Christmas too. We’re glad to have you joining us this year–I hope you have a fun time!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

